Categories of Cyber Attack

The Sept./Oct. 2012 issue of CrossTalk: The Journal of Defense Software Engineering in the article "Identifying Cyber Ecosystem Security Capabilities" by Peter M. Fonash has a table of cyber attack categories. The list is presented here for reference:

  • Attrition (brute force)
  • Malware
  • Hacking
  • Social Tactics
  • Improper Usage (Insider Attack
  • Physical Action / Loss or Theft of Equipment
  • Multiple Component (Combining multiple techniques)
  • Other

I have found list list useful when considering areas of risk.

 

December 2015 testingpodcast Twitter Posts

Follow testingpodcast on Twitter

30 Dec 2015
Posted – Let’s Talk About Tests, Baby Ep 15: So Cunning You Could Pin A Tail On It And Call It A Fox – http://testingpodcast.com/ep-15-so-cunning-you-could-pin-a-tail-on-it-and-call-it-a-fox/

29 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes News Of The Damned 12-10-2015 – http://testingpodcast.com/news-of-the-damned-12-10-2015/

28 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Let’s Talk About Tests, Baby Ep 14: Eternal Sunshine of the Testless Mind – http://testingpodcast.com/ep-14-eternal-sunshine-of-the-testless-mind/

24 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – RBCS Webinar: Test Estimation (2015): 12/8/15 – http://testingpodcast.com/webinar-test-estimation-2015-12815/

23 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Testing in the Pub Episode 24 – Leaving Testing – http://testingpodcast.com/testing-in-the-pub-episode-24-leaving-testing/

22 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Building A Culture Of Performance – http://testingpodcast.com/building-a-culture-of-performance/

21 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Talks 83: Joe Colantonio: The Test Automation Playbook – http://testingpodcast.com/83-joe-colantonio-the-test-automation-playbook/

18 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Let’s Talk About Tests, Baby Ep 13: I Love Docs, I’ve Always Loved Docs – http://testingpodcast.com/ep-13-i-love-docs-ive-always-loved-docs/

17 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes News of The Damned 11-24-2015 – http://testingpodcast.com/news-of-the-damned-11-24-2015/

16 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Let’s Talk About Tests, Baby Ep 12: Give Us A Clue – http://testingpodcast.com/ep-12-give-us-a-clue/

15 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Live! At Dynatrace PERFORM 2015 Day 2 – http://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-live-at-dynatrace-perform-2015-day-2/

14 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Talks 82: Scott Nimrod: Software Craftsmanship – Revenge of the SDET – http://testingpodcast.com/82-scott-nimrod-software-craftsmanship-revenge-of-the-sdet/

13 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Let’s Talk About Tests, Baby Ep 11: There’s No I In Team – http://testingpodcast.com/ep-11-theres-no-i-in-team/

12 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Let’s Talk About Tests, Baby Ep 10: Crouch, Touch, Pause, Engage – http://testingpodcast.com/ep-10-crouch-touch-pause-engage/

11 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Let’s Talk About Tests, Baby Ep 9 – This. Is. Dataaaa – http://testingpodcast.com/ep-9-this-is-dataaaa/

10 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes An Evening With Dynatrace Gurus – http://testingpodcast.com/an-evening-with-dynatrace-gurus/

9 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Let’s Talk About Tests, Baby Ep 8: Rage Against the QA – http://testingpodcast.com/ep-8-rage-against-the-qa/

8 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Talks 81: Mark Collin: Mastering Selenium WebDriver – http://testingpodcast.com/81-mark-collin-mastering-selenium-webdriver/

7 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Live! At Dynatrace PERFORM 2015 Day 1 – http://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-live-at-dynatrace-perform-2015-day-1/

5 Dec 2015
Post to http://testingpodcast.com – Let’s Talk About Tests, Baby Ep 7: To fight the bug, we must understand the bug – http://testingpodcast.com/ep-7-to-fight-the-bug-we-must-understand-the-bug/

4 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Let’s Talk About Tests, Baby Ep 6: Access All Areas? – http://testingpodcast.com/ep-6-access-all-areas/

3 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Talks 80: Eric Proegler: Performance Testing in New Contexts – http://testingpodcast.com/80-eric-proegler-performance-testing-in-new-contexts/

2 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Live! STPCON Fall 2015 – http://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-live-stpcon-fall-2015/

1 Dec 2015
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Testing In The Pub Ep 23 – Agile Testing Days 2015 w/ C. Ohanian And D. Nisbet – http//testingpodcast.com/testing-in-the-pub-episode-23-agile-testing-days-2015-with-christina-ohanian-and-duncan-nisbet/

 

December 2015 mensming Twitter Posts

Follow mensming on Twitter

30 Dec 2015
How To Plan For Your Startup’s Gruesome Demise – http://techcrunch.com/2015/12/13/how-to-plan-for-your-startups-gruesome-demise/

22 Dec 2015
A year after eliminating the test function – Yahoo’s Engineers Move to Coding Without a Net – http://spectrum.ieee.org/view-from-the-valley/computing/software/yahoos-engineers-move-to-coding-without-a-net

15 Dec 2015
Useful quick reference – Linux Performance Analysis in 60,000 Milliseconds – http://techblog.netflix.com/2015/11/linux-performance-analysis-in-60s.html

10 Dec 2015
Finished reading – Humor in Quality by Arun Hariharan – http://goo.gl/K96udA

8 Dec 2015
RT @TESTHuddle – Blogspy 124: Our round-up of the latest & best blog posts on software #testing https://testhuddle.com/blogspy-124-this-weeks-round-up-of-the-best-software-testing-blog-posts-from-the-blogosphere/

1 Dec 2015
Finished reading – Swift Fundamentals: The Language of iOS Development by Mark A. Lassoff – http://goo.gl/4LfdM6