MariaDB – old passwords

I have been evaluating swapping out MySQL with MariaDB. As advertised, so far it has been a pretty plug and play replacement. With one exception…

For some reason, our MySQL configuration file had the system variable old_passwords set to 1. No issues showed up when using the command line client.

However, when I tried to attach Tomcat to the database it failed. A quick web search showed that this is a well know issue and all that had to be done was upgrade the passwords.

References:
"Unable to load authentication plugin." when trying to connect to MariaDB
Upgrading passwords from old_passwords to "new passwords"

November 2014 mensming Twitter Posts

Nov 26
Your developers aren’t slow – https://sprint.ly/blog/your-developers-arent-slow/

Nov 25
Posted to testingpodcast.com – 02: Dave Haeffner : The Selenium Guidebook – http://testingpodcast.com/02-dave-haeffner-the-selenium-guidebook/

Nov 24
Posted to testingpodcast.com – 01: Lance Kind: Discover the Benefits of Behavior Driven Development – http://testingpodcast.com/01-lance-kind-discover-the-benefits-of-behavior-driven-development/

Nov 20
Absolutely – Does a Startup Need a Moral Compass? – http://news.dice.com/2014/11/19/startup-need-moral-compass/

Nov 19
Do Programmers need agents? – http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2014/11/24/programmers-price

Nov 18
Finished Reading – The Start-up of You: Adapt to the Future, Invest in Yourself, and Transform Your Career – http://goo.gl/adcHUR

Nov 17
Posted to testingpodcast.com – RBCS Webinar: Agile Risk-based Testing: A How-to Guide 11/12/14 – http://testingpodcast.com/webinar-agile-risk-based-testing-a-how-to-guide-111214/

Nov 12
Dr. Birdwhistell will be missed – Professor remembered by students, faculty – http://www.loyolamaroon.com/1624/news/professor-remembered-by-students-faculty/

Nov 11
Agree or Disagree? – How automation could take your skills — and your job – http://www.computerworld.com/article/2845383/how-automation-could-take-your-skills-and-your-job.html

Nov 7
Academic – A Large Scale Study of Programming Languages and Code Quality in Github – http://macbeth.cs.ucdavis.edu/lang_study.pdf

Nov 6
Confessions of an Accidental Security Tester – http://www.slideshare.net/eviltester/confessions-of-an-accidental-security-tester

Nov 5
Finished Reading – The Social Media Daily Planner: How to generate fans, friends & followers … by Fraser J. Hay – http://goo.gl/uHQEYO

Nov 4
Here’s Why Apple Rejected Your iOS App – http://news.dice.com/2014/10/27/apple-rejected-ios-app/