Eclipse Font – Source Code Pro

In September 2012, Adobe announced the availability of a free monospace font designed for source code. I have been using it for some time and did not realize how much I liked it until I setup a new machine. This font enables me to be a much more production programmer.

To configure in Eclipse:

  1. Download the font from SourceForge.
  2. Install the font according to your operating system conventions.
  3. In Eclipse, go to Windows, Preferences. In the popup, expand out General, Appearance, Colors and Fonts.
  4. Under basic, set "Text Font" to Source Code Pro
  5. Under basic, set "Text Editor Block Selection Font" to Source Code Pro Semibold

This should setup most of the places where you are currently using a monospace font. There may be other areas than need to be set but I have found this to be sufficient.

 

Video Notes – Top Tips for Writing Better Selenium Tests

Top Tips for Writing Better Selenium Tests
Santiago Suarez OrdoƱez
Sauce Ninja & Selenium Committer
51 min, 24 sec
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJnlOQ3zxro

My Notes:

  • Video quality is not great. Essentially a display of a code editor with too small of a font.
  • When build break due to flaky tests, developers stop trusting the build
  • Selenium 1 Tips
    • Implicit waits
      • Part of Selenium 2
      • Have to code yourself in Selenium 1. Hook into doCommand.
    • Reasonable timeouts (over 90s)
      • 30 seconds may be low when driving lots of browsers
    • Generate application states with test handles
      • Tendency is to write long test sequences
      • Better to have short sets of user actions that can be plugged together.
      • Even better if have some method to setup the application to meet the pre-requisites without having go through the steps a user must got through to get there.
      • Make sure these short cuts are turned off in production.
    • Wait for the right events (never ever use static pauses)
      • Do not use sleep
      • Implicit waits help
      • Even better is understanding how the elements appear within the application and take that into account with custom wait functions.
    • Don’t use verifications
      • Referring to the Selenium 1 “wait…” vs. “verify…” commands
      • Use the “wait…” variants.
      • Use asserts from your test frameworks instead.
    • Ignore Open and WaitForPageToLoad Features
      • Ignore the selenium failures for these commands
      • Behavior is inconsistent across browsers
      • Should behave like a user – of they see what they need to do, they do it vs waiting for the browser to say it is done. If the needed item is not there, the test will fail at that point.
  • Selenium 2 Tips
    • Selenium 2 is more robust than Selenium 1
    • Implicit Waits
      • Easier than Selenium 1
      • Use driver.implicitlyWait
    • Use findElement instead of a complex locator
      • Selenium 1 xpath and css locators may confuse people reading the code
      • Selenium 2 allows you to be explicit with how things are made, able to retrieve a list of items, interact with that list, etc. rather than using a complex selector
  • Sauce Tips
    • Report pass/fail status automatically
    • Use Sauce Connect 2
  •  

     

August 2013 mensming Twitter Posts

Follow mensming on Twitter

28 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #24: News Of The Damned – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-24-news-of-the-damned/

27 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – RBCS Webinar: ISTQB in a Nutshell: 7/23/13 – http://testingpodcast.com/webinar-the-sherpas-of-testing-success-081413/

26 Aug
Finished reading – The First 20 Hours: How to Learn Anything . . . Fast! by Josh Kaufman – “http://amzn.to/19V6Lem

21 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #23: Everything You Forgot About Memory – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-23-everything-you-forgot-about-memory/

20 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #22: Performance In DevOps – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-22-performance-in-devops/

19 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #21: Network Performance – “http://testingpodcast.com/episode-21-network-performance/

16 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #20: PerfBytes Live! 4th Of July – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-20-perfbytes-live-4th-of-july/

15 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #19 Database Performance – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-19-database-performance/

14 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #18 Performance Analysis – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-18-performance-analysis/

13 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #17: How To Survive Point Load – “http://testingpodcast.com/episode-17-how-to-survive-point-load/

12 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #16: Mobile Performance Craziness – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-16-mobile-performance-craziness/

9 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Episode #15: PerfBytes Live! At STPCON Spring 2013 – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-15-perfbytes-live-at-stpcon-spring-2013/

8 Aug
RT @TonyAudino: Celebrating Conenza being named one of Washington’s Best Workplaces at Safeco Field tonight! #wabest

8 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – SoftwareTestPodcast Episode 48 – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-48/

7 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #14: Agile Performance Testing – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-14-agile-performance-testing/

6 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #13: Performance Testing In Production – “http://testingpodcast.com/episode-13-performance-testing-in-production/

5 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #12: Hiring Top Performance Talent – “http://testingpodcast.com/episode-12-hiring-top-performance-talent/

2 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #11: Types Of Performance Tests – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-11-types-of-performance-tests/

1 Aug
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Episode #10: LAMP Stack Performance Tuning – http://testingpodcast.com/episode-10-lamp-stack-performance-tuning/